Fifteen Credits

Another school semester will soon begin. If you’re in school, are you looking forward to starting classes? If you’re out of school, what do you miss about it — or are you glad those days are over?

Ah, school! I’m only taking 12 credits this semester, but I am looking forward to it with every fiber of my being. Ever since I was little, I remember loving school, no matter what grade I was in.

In elementary school, I loved soaking all the basics in and trying to teach myself what came next. If it was addition and subtraction, I was going for multiplication and division. If everyone was writing in print, I was going for script. I wanted to be a scientist and work with chemicals and solve some of the world’s problems. I had very big dreams.

Middle school was a little different, I was out of my element because I was going to a magnet school for “gifted children.” I had to take an exam to get in, and remember everything about that experience, from waking up early to drive into a different borough (I was a New York City girl), to taking the exam in a lunch room with all these people that I have never seen before, to coming home (oh yeah, it was on Super Bowl Sunday) and my grandfather asking me if I received any zeros. The conversation went like this:

Grandpa – “Did you get any zeros?”

Me – “No! Why would I get zeroes?!”

Grandpa – “Without any zeros, you can’t get 100!”

And I guess I got some zeros,  because I got in. In middle school, I followed the science track, taking classes in herpetology, botany, and marine biology.  I took high school classes (and passed!) and made some of the best of friends during those three years.

Onto high school, which was  a complete joke. My parents thought it was a great idea to move from New York to Florida. The school system is a complete joke around here. Because I was taking high school courses in middle school, my grades were not the best. I passed, but to people who don’t understand regents (state exams), those grades meant I was a middle-of-the-road student. I got straight As for the whole year, and everyone who was in my classes thought I was a genius.

That lasted throughout junior year, when things started to get harder and those study skills that I really never learned were tested. I passed all my classes, and still graduation with a 3.75, but junior and senior year were a little harder.

Then onto college. I went the community college route for my first two years and then transferred to a state college. I didn’t put much effort into the community college because from the first day I thought it was a joke.  I failed my first English class because my professor was stupid and told me that my thesis statement wasn’t a thesis statement. I ended up getting my AA and transferring to USF, which I was accepted to twice (which is a story that I will explain later)!

Now that I have gotten off topic, I love school, especially at USF! I have met so many different people and learned so much, not just about myself, but the world. I have worked at McDonald’s for eight years and now seeing what is out there, I am ready to finish my degree and get out there. I am studying marketing, and according to the St. Pete Times, marketing is the fifth hardest job to fill, so how is that for a future!

I have three semesters left (including this fall coming up) and although I want to stay at USF forever, I cannot wait to graduate!

Leave a Reply

